Life’s a Beach

Ah you most wonderful Tuesday, for the second week in a row, my family and I journeyed to the beach.  The beach is my favorite place on Earth.  It doesn’t matter which beach.  It doesn’t matter if it is crowded or vacant.  It doesn’t matter if its rocky or sandy.  The only thing that matters is that it is the beach, and the ocean, gulf, or sea is calling.  Something about the sound of the waves, the smell of the salt.

I dont remember going to the beach all that much as a kid, but i do have some fond memories of the times I was there.  During my college years at UCF my buddies and I would go to the beach 2 or 3 times a week.  Sometimes we would go when it was cold or rainy.  The only thing that mattered was that we were together, the cooler was full of beer, and there was enough weed left over for the hour long ride  home.  It feels like a lifetime ago.

I met my wife on the beach.  One of those fun filled college days.  It was a Tuesday and the beach was dead.  My buddies and I were throwing around the football.  On our way back to the cooler to grab another brew, we were called over by two super hotties.  There story was that they were bored and came up with a guessing game.  The intent of the game was to match a personality type with a name, and attach that name to each of the three of us.  The names were Mike (The Frat boy), Matt (The boy next door), and Steve ( The Party animal).  They told us each name and meaning, and which one they thought we were.  I was Steve, and they were right about each of us, it was pretty good.  Then they said, “Ok, we’re done with you, so go away.”  Oh no, not gonna happen on my watch, I told them it would only be fair if we could guess there names.  There was some back and forth, and the next thing I know we were sharing a wonderful day together.  

The best part was that my cheating ex worked with these girls, and now wife hated her.  Small world huh?

Theres a lot more drama to the story, especially after we started dating, but back to the beach.

Now, I get to enjoy my daughters jumping and laughing in the waves.  There’s much more planning and packing.  There’s much more cleaning and sand in the car.  There’s also a lot more love.  The beach will always have a special place in my heart.

What an amazing day, now lets finish it off with a bang (Pun intended).

 

 

Leave a Reply

