Rippers, Carmenere, and Nutella Empanadas

What a wonderful day I am sharing with my girls.  We woke up ands I cooked breakfast for everyone.  Egg sandwich over easy for the wife, cereal and milk for the little one, and me and my six year old had scrambled eggs and smoked kilbasa.  My wife had to work today, so it was just me and the girls for most of the day.

I did some yard work for my mother in law, and then me and the girls spent the rest of the day swimming in the pool.

For dinner, my girls wanted hot dogs, so I threw oil in the pan to make some rippers.  Rippers are a Jersey thing, fried hot dogs, cooked until they rip open, they are amazing.  I put cheese on the bun, and white onions and spicy mustard on mine.

East enough, next I popped open some Montes Alpha Carmenere.

Image

ImageThe wine is drinking excellent.  Aurelio Montes is a pioneer in Chile, and this Carmenere is a great value.   Aged in French oak for 12 months, it gives the wine  nice chocolate flavors in the finish.  It is a big wine with pepper spice and plum.  It is well balanced yet rustic.  The tannins are soft, and you can taste the oak.  Rich and creamy, it held up to the rippers and is going great with my dessert.

This is the easiest dessert ever.  You don’t need to measure anything.  I buy Goya Empanada shells, fill with Nutella, put them in the oven at 375 and bake for 10-15 minutes.

Image

I gave the girls a bath, put them down to sleep and its just me and the rest of my wine.

Image

Leave a Reply

